Supreme Court of Florida

No. AOSC09-8

Corrected

IN RE: TASK FORCE ON RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE FORECLOSURE CASES

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

Residential mortgage foreclosure case filings have increased dramatically in the circuit courts, resulting in a tremendous strain on limited judicial resources and reflecting a significant crisis in Florida communities. These cases are of concern not only because of their high volume but also because many homeowners do not have legal representation.

A number of circuits have implemented a variety of approaches to more efficiently manage and process pending foreclosure cases and to facilitate early resolution of cases outside the court system through mediation or other alternate dispute resolution efforts. However, the residential mortgage foreclosure crisis is of statewide proportions and should, to the extent possible, be addressed on a statewide basis with uniform court rules, policies, and procedures to manage cases, to protect the rights of homeowners and lenders, and to ease the burden on the courts.

Accordingly, the Task Force on Residential Mortgage Foreclosure Cases is hereby established to recommend to the Supreme Court policies, procedures, strategies, and methods for easing the backlog of pending residential mortgage foreclosure cases while protecting the rights of parties. These recommendations may include mediation and other alternate dispute resolution strategies, case management techniques, and approaches to providing *pro bono* or low-cost legal assistance to homeowners. The Task Force should examine existing court rules and propose new rules or rule changes that will facilitate early, equitable resolution of residential mortgage foreclosure cases.

The Task Force shall submit an interim report and recommendations to the Supreme Court of Florida no later than May 8, 2009. The Task Force's final report and recommendations should be submitted to the Court no later than August 15, 2009. The Task Force shall submit its reports to the Chief Justice through the State Courts Administrator.

The Task Force is directed to make every effort to conserve scarce court resources by using discretion in the establishment of subcommittees that require operating funds and staff support; limiting the number of in-person meetings; and utilizing such options as telephone conference calls, videoconferencing, and other electronic meeting options as appropriate.

The Task Force is authorized to propose amendments to rules of court procedure on matters involving residential mortgage foreclosures, as well as pursue those amendments with the appropriate Florida Bar rules committees. In proposing rules or rule changes, the Task Force should liaison with the Rules of Judicial Administration and Rules of Civil Procedures committees of The Florida Bar.

Should the Task Force make recommendations that require additional court funding or resources to implement, the Task Force is directed to establish the necessary liaison relationship with the District Court of Appeal Budget

Commission or the Trial Court Budget Commission, as appropriate. At a minimum, the Task Force shall provide the chair of the respective budget commission with copies of Task Force reports and recommendations that reference the need for additional court funding or resources.

The following individuals are appointed to the Task Force for a term that expires on September 30, 2009:

The Honorable Jennifer Bailey Circuit Court Judge, Eleventh Judicial Circuit 73 W. Flagler Street, Room 1307 Miami, Florida 33130

Ms. Rosezetta Bobo Consultant/Mediator 1122 Seminole Drive Tallahassee, Florida 32301 Mr. Alan Bookman P. O. Box 1271 Pensacola, Florida 32591

Ms. Arnell Bryant-Willis E.W. Bryant Associates 1882 Capital Circle N.E., Suite 105 Tallahassee, Florida 32308

Mr. J. Thomas Cardwell P. O. Box 231 Akerman Senterfitt Orlando, Florida 32802

Ms. April Charney Jacksonville Area Legal Aid 126 W. Adams Street Jacksonville, Florida 32202

The Honorable Burton Conner Committee on Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules and Policy Circuit Court Judge, Nineteenth Judicial Circuit 218 S. Second Street, Room 312 Fort Pierce, Florida 34950

Ms. Sandra Fascell Diamond Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Section of The Florida Bar 9075 Seminole Boulevard Seminole, Florida 33772

Mr. Michael M. Fields Florida Bankers Association 315 S. Calhoun Street Tallahassee, Florida 32301 Gregory Firestone, Ph.D.

Committee on Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules and Policy University of South Florida Conflict Resolution Collaborative 12901 Bruce B. Downs Blvd., MDC 46 Tampa, Florida 33612-4799

The Honorable Lee A. Haworth Chief Judge, Twelfth Judicial Circuit P. O. Box 48927 Sarasota, Florida 34230

The Honorable Claudia Isom Rules of Civil Procedure Committee of The Florida Bar Circuit Court Judge, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit 800 E. Twiggs Street, Room 513 Tampa, Florida 33602

Mr. Perry S. Itkin
Committee on Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules and Policy
Dispute Resolution, Inc.
2200 N.E. 33rd Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33305-1889

The Honorable Alex Sink, or designee Chief Financial Officer, State of Florida Plaza Level 11, The Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Ms. Rebecca Storrow ADR Director, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit Palm Beach County Courthouse 205 N. Dixie Highway West Palm Beach, Florida 33401 Judge Jennifer Bailey shall serve as chair of the Task Force. The Office of the State Courts Administrator shall provide the necessary staff support to enable the Task Force to carry out its duties.

DONE AND ORDERED at Tallahassee, Florida, on March 27, 2009.

Chief Justice Peggy A. Quince

ATTEST:

Thomas D. Hall

Clerk, Supreme Court