Vern Countryman Award



David Sugerman

The 2021 Vern Countryman Awardee is David Sugerman!

Submit a nomination for the 2022 Vern Countryman Award!

Each year NCLC presents the Vern Countryman Consumer Law Award to a legal services or other public interest attorney whose special contributions to the practice of consumer law have strengthened and affirmed the rights of low-income Americans.

Since the first award was presented in 1990, the Vern Countryman Award has quickly become the top honor for consumer attorneys with 15 or more years of experience. We are most proud to know these outstanding advocates and applaud their efforts on behalf of low-income consumers. Each year NCLC presents the Vern Countryman Award to an attorney whose career work has significantly contributed to the rights and well-being of low-income consumers.

Winners include some of the most highly regarded consumer advocates in the country:

Jane Greengold Stevens (2020), Elizabeth Cabraser (2019), Karen Brown (2018), David Humphreys and Luke Wallace (2017), Mark Chavez (2016), Lorray Brown (2015), Dale Irwin (2014), Richard N. Feferman (2013), David Leen (2012), Carlene McNulty (2011)



Irwin (2014 Award Winner)

Mark Chavez (2016 Award Winner) and Rich Dubois

Elizabeth Cabrasser (2019 Award Winner) and Mark Chavez



Lorray Brown (2018 Award Winner)



Sarah Mancini and Karen Brown (2018 Award Winner)



David Humphreys and Luke Wallace (2017 Award Winners) with Dick Rubin (c)



2015 speakers after a session



Attendees



2017 Conference Attendees

Award Winners 2000-2010

O. Randolph Bragg, 2010 Michael D. Donovan, 2009 Bernard E. Brown, 2008 Mallam J. Maynard, 2007 F. Paul Bland, Jr., 2006 Irv Ackelsberg, 2005 Gail Hillebrand, 2004 Dan Hedges, 2003 Joanne Faulkner, 2002 Lynn Drysdale, 2001 Richard Rubin, 2000

Award Winners 1990-1999

Kathleen Keest, 1999
Alan Alop, 1998
David Ramp, 1997
Elizabeth Imholz, 1996
James Sturdevant, 1995
Patricia Sturdevant, 1995
Michael Ferry, 1994
William Brennan, 1993
Carolyn Carter, 1992
Margot Freeman Saunders, 1991
Henry Sommer, 1990